Money Matters

Change is the only constant in the universe.

I have been able to switch my credit card balance to a 0% interest offer. I’ve switched the focus of my payments to the car loan.

My Roth IRA is currently being transferred to another company. It will be invested in index funds, in the hopes that it will be more productive.

I opened a Roth 403(b) on Friday. I’m starting with the smallest possible monthly contribution. After all my debt is paid off, I’ll increase the contribution gradually until it matches my Teacher Retirement contribution.

Health insurance rates for 2017 were released last week. The premium for my current plan isn’t very different (if it’s different at all). I will change my plan to a High Deductible Health Plan (HDHP) during open enrollment. The difference in premiums will be more than $900/year. I can put the difference in a Health Savings Account (HSA). I’ve narrowed down the list of HSA custodians.

I may (or may not) get a three percent one time bonus based on my 2016 pay in December. Details are rather thin on the ground at the moment. My big question is whether or not a Teacher Retirement contribution will be made based on the bonus. Three percent is three percent.

If I do get a bonus, part of it will go towards the car loan and the remainder will go to the first HSA contribution. I may be able to pay off the remainder of the car loan.

Leave a Reply

