The More Things Change

Moving Along Home, Part 5

I turned in my key and had the move out walk-through for my old apartment today. I would have turned in my key and had the move out walk-through yesterday, but my landlady’s son thought the 27th was on Tuesday.

Well, it’s done and that’s the nicest thing I can type about the experience. I’m determined to be positive.

In some ways, it’s hard to believe that I had been in that apartment for almost 16 years. In other ways, it’s not hard at all.

I sold my washer and dryer to a co-worker for much less money than I paid 3 years ago. Her husband picked it up on Saturday. I received payment today. I hope they have many years of good laundry. I chatted with her briefly in the hall at work today. She was happy about how quiet the washer is and the cycle completion sound.

I still have too much stuff. I moved more stuff than I wanted to. The stuff is in the garage (with a garage door). While we have pleasant Spring weather, I’m going to do another purging round.

I still need to buy a couch. I may need to get one or two short book cases.

Be safe.

Be kind.

Leave a Reply

